Lumberton, NC – February 8, 2021 – The Lumberton Chamber of Commerce announced new leaders for its board of directors for 2021. Maureen Metzger, Public Information Associate for Robeson Community College, will serve as the 2021 board chair, succeeding Bryan Britt, Owner of Cakes and Pastries of Lumberton. The 2021 board will continue to focus on providing a positive image for Lumberton and the recovery of the Lumberton business community following the COVID-19 pandemic.

Although 2020 was a different kind of year for the chamber, it hopes that 2021 will see more businesses opening in Lumberton and the Chamber will be able to host scheduled events.  

“The Chamber only hosted four ribbon cuttings in 2020 and only held two board meetings due to COVID,” said Cindy Kern, Executive Director of the Lumberton Chamber of Commerce.  “We had to cancel our Christmas parade and our annual golf tournament was held at a later date.” 

“I am grateful for the opportunity to serve as chairman for the chamber this year,” said Metzger, “I look forward to working with my fellow board members to help promote current businesses in Lumberton and encourage  new businesses to locate in Lumberton.”

New members of the board include Suzanne Abbott-Abbott Insurance, LLC, Dr. Phillip Stephens –Carolina Acute Care and Wellness Center, Crystal Collins-Lumbee Guaranty Bank, Bebe Wright- Comfort Inn and Country Inn & Suites, Allen Elks-Postnet, John Hendren-Walmart, Josh Jackson-Edward Jones Investments, Betsy Wilson- UNC Health Southeastern, Donna Davis-Tomlinson’s Department Store and Ellie Johnson-UNCP.

The Lumberton Chamber also announced its new Committee Chairs.  Serving  this year are Suzanne Abbott, Golf Committee;  Richard Monroe and Mickey Gregory for the Image Committee; Sarah Campbell, Membership; Amy Hall, Ambassadors; Rhonda Williamson, Communications, Miles Mercer, Agriculture, Merle Summers, Education, Cheryl Page, Special Events, Connie Russ Wallwork, Community Development; Angela Sumner, Travel and Tourism; Bo Biggs, Legislative.

Retiring board members include Mickey Gregory-Canal Wood, LLC, Jay Britt-Robeson County Farm Bureau, Rose Avant-Retired, Linda Branch-Storage Solutions, LLC, Myra Norton-GreenState Landscaping, Sarah Campbell-Campbell Ear, Nose & Throat Facial Plastic Surgery, Chelsea Biggs- Biggs Park Mall/Century 21 and Richard Monroe-Retired.

Pictured l to r are Bryan Britt, Past Chair, Maureen Metzger, 2021 Chairperson  and Cindy Kern, Executive Director.